Skip to content

Further On Down The Road

January 27, 2010

Continuing my work on “The Bold and The Brave” I kicked things into overdrive with underwhelming results. Every once in a while I work and work on a painting or drawing that just never shapes up the way I want it to. This is looking like one of those works. Before I get to the pictures I want to do a run down of the “progress” or more accurately, changes made. The background has been heavily modified, colors added, and painted over. This was done, largely, to make the palette of the background be more similar to the figure. On that note, I have also started work on the fist/arm. This is probably my biggest gripe with the painting. I have begun work on the fist only to discover that this painting has been done a million times before and done better a million times before. I knew going in that this wasn’t the most original idea. Instead it was just a stop gap, something to get me back in the flow so that I could take on my next challenge, which is substantial. As it stands I am prepared to call this work over. It will return from whence it came, my pile of canvases waiting to be reused for some greater purpose. I will take that title “The Bold and The Brave” and stick it in my pocket for another day as I quite like it. What follows below is the damage.

Currently Listening To: Steve Earle – To Live Is To Fly (Townes Van Zandt cover)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

