Skip to content

In My Travels I Have Seen…

January 10, 2010

_________________________________________________________________________

I find just moving around the city one of the best ways to get into the mood for art. Bringing along a camera is always a good idea because you never know when you’ll see something that just has to be captured. These are a few photos from my wanderings through the metropolitan jungle that is Seattle.

I took this shot coming up from the metro tunnel. The jarring transition from the dark underground to the bright street level made this moment too appealing to miss.

Just a random pay phone on 3rd avenue. I walked by this same phone again the other day and the actual phone was gone. Someone pinched a pay phone. Seriously.

And this was taken from my friend’s passenger side on a typical cold, wet, and rainy Seattle morning. You can kind of see me in the reflection. Well, hopefully not. I love taking pictures of my city, there’s nothing as immediate in art as taking a really good photo. That sense of satisfaction after the shutters go can’t be matched by the  slow, drawn out processes of painting or drawing. I hope to get better at this, to become more proficient with the technical wrangling of my camera, which will hopefully lead to better shots. For now this is as good as it gets. Cheers.

Currently Listening To: Norah Jones – The Long Way Home (Tom Waits cover)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. lane09 permalink
    January 10, 2010 7:38 am

    I like your layout so much more than your last one. The like the page photo thingy as well, i dont know what its called.

    where did you take the photo of the escalator? and does your camera have a balck and white setting?

    • January 10, 2010 2:52 pm

      Thanks, yeah I like this new look better too. More interesting and its got a touch of style. The escalator is the third ave and pioneer square underground metro stop? The first stop after chinatown going north. You come up across the street from the court house and yes my camera has a black n white setting. Glad u like the new look.

  2. January 13, 2010 2:16 am

    That metro shot looks retro/noir-ish – really nice! Keep it up

Leave a Reply

