Skip to content

update! it is done.

January 3, 2010

I’ve finished the abstract/surreal painting I posted as a work in progress a while back. Picking up where I left off (see work in progress category for past posts) I started today’s work with painting in the main figure in black and white.

At first I questioned the high contrast look of black and white against the muddier background but then I decided that I like the thematic implications of a black and white, non-descript, human-like figure chasing its own heart against an abstract cityscape. However the visually strong figure did prompt me to go back and make a few changes to the cityscape.

I strengthened many of the black lines in the background so that they would stand up to the central figure and cause the cityscape to clash with the figure a little more.

Next I added some dirty, watered down red to the sky so that it would mesh better with the bleeding heart and make the overall painting darker. After that came the heart itself.

I wasn’t sure if it would read as a heart or not but I am quite pleased with this close up. Despite not being very heart-like it has a lot of character and direction. Lastly I added a gaping red hole in the figure’s chest and called it done.

All that’s left now is to add a layer of matte medium for protection. Looking at it now I’m fairly satisfied with this painting. I find it interesting both visually and thematically. My process was good, mistakes were minimal, and the final product is consistent with my initial intention. Its not my best work and its not a leap forward but it is a continuation of my exploration of the painting medium. At very least its not another painting of a vase or flower and that’s good enough for now. oh yeah, and its titled: “Here I Dreamt”. Let me know what you think!

Currently Listening To: Beck – Little Hands (Skip Spence Cover)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2010 6:41 am

    Congratulations, it looks very good. I find that cross-road is unsettling but interesting (because the person is running in a perpendicular direction).

    The “heart” detail is very clever. I see it as a heart (because of the person’s chest detail), and I think you could have used any shape, the idea would come across anyway. 😉

    Keep it up!

    • January 5, 2010 11:41 am

      Thank you, I appreciate your comments. I see this painting as a moderately successful experiment in “sketch painting”.

  2. Galane permalink
    January 5, 2010 7:07 pm

    the final product is amazing. the addition of the man and heart is genius, well at least i think it is. can i buy it from you?

    • January 6, 2010 12:06 am

      Thank you very much for the kind words. As for sale questions I will email you about that.

Leave a Reply

