Skip to content

new work, abstracted city-scape, in progress

December 23, 2009

these are some photos of a painting I just started working on. I was inspired by a dream I had while I was sick with the flu. Right now I’m thinking of some kind of mashed up cityscape that will play heavy on black and white with a few rough colors thrown in. On top of all that will be a man, an indescript figure, chasing his own heart. Flu induced dreams are weird. Here are some early shots:

:

This first picture was taken right after I sketched out some general guide lines with black paint and began filling with a rough mix of black and white. I want a rough look so for now I’m allowing the brush strokes to show heavy.

city scape work in progress

Some more progress. I think some of the cross avenues and funky perspective is beginning to come through.

city scape work in progress

And this is where I’m stopping for the night. I’ve applied a light coat of grey all around alternating brush stroke directions in order to create some visual clutter. I’ve also gone a bit heavier in some sections. I’m looking at playing with what’s foregrounded and what’s pushed back based on the thickness of the paint applied. I’ve also added some color touches. I will have to think on this some more.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Galane permalink
    December 25, 2009 5:05 pm

    i like the little bit of color but i think you should stop at the color you have. the imagery is negative to me like being eaten up by the huge cluttered city almost claustrophobic and color wold just seem to lighten up the dark mood…i dunno i have no clue about paintings. cant wait to see the outcome though

    • December 25, 2009 8:16 pm

      Hey, thank you Galane. Yeah, I think the painting will have a somewhat negative feel to it. The color use will be kept to a minimum and it will be a kind of dirty color. Welcome to my little corner of the internet, I hope you continue to follow my self-indulgent artistic adventures!

Leave a Reply

